students walking on north central college campus

Student Achievements

North Central College has a proud history of garnering national student recognitions for outstanding scholarship, leadership and global education. 

Our students are well-prepared to compete for Fulbright grants, Barry Goldwater Scholarship honors, National Science Foundation fellowships and Soros Fellowships. Faculty-student research, study abroad programs, the College Scholar Honors program and interdisciplinary studies qualify high-achieving students for national recognition.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program

North Central College proudly encourages Fulbright applicants in their quest to bridge international understanding. In 2015, North Central College was named a Top Producer of Fulbright Scholarship recipients.

These grants fund individually designed study/research projects or for English Teaching Assistant Programs. During their grants, Fulbrighters meet, work, live with and learn from the people of the host country, sharing daily experiences. The program facilitates cultural exchange through direct interaction … in an atmosphere of openness, academic integrity, and intellectual freedom, thereby promoting mutual understanding.

The following students/alumni received Fulbright grants:

  • 2016: Hannah Kramer
  • 2015: Heidi Nelson, Kristin Rose
  • 2014: Britney Kravish, Ian Wright, Mark Zajac
  • 2012: Hemma Mistry
  • 2010: Parker Gadbois
  • 2009: Claudia Chlebek
  • 2004: Rose Raymond
  • 1996: Jamison Steinke
  • 1994: Janet Bernhardy

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation

Barry Goldwater program is the most prestigious scholarship honor for students in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering in the United States. Providing scholarships to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers ensures there are highly qualified professionals to meet critical needs in these fields.

Goldwater Scholars and honorable mention recipients:

  • 2016: Alicia Casacchia (physics)
  • 2015: Jack Ryan (mathematics and theatre), Kori Sye (chemistry)
  • 2014: Rebecca Heinen, mathematics
  • 2012: Maria Gommel (mathematics)
  • 2011: Grace Muganda (biochemistry, computer science)
  • 2009: Emily Albright (biochemistry), Christina Lorenzo (mathematics)
  • 2008:  Emily Albright (biochemistry)  
  • 2005 Zachary Pratt (biology)

National Science Foundation (NSF) fellowships

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines. Recipients must be pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees.

These alumni are receiving funding from NSF Fellowships for their research and education:

  • 2016: Kori Sye’16, graduate fellowship for pursuing Ph.D. in chemistry at University of Illinios at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2015: Matt McCary ’10, post-doctoral fellowship at University of Wisconsin-Madison to conduct environmental research in Iceland
  • 2010: Emily Albright ’10, graduate fellowship for pursuing Ph.D. in biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship

Each year, Soros Fellowships honor and support the graduate educations of 30 New Americans who are permanent residents or naturalized citizens if born abroad or otherwise children of immigrants. Fellows are selected on the basis of merit—the criteria include creativity, originality, initiative and sustained accomplishment—in annual national competitions. 

  • 2013 Etienne Mashuli
  • 2001 Veronika Gagovic

More student achievement stories