Feature News

Honors Day recognizes students for their scholarship and achievements

May 16, 2017

For decades, North Central College has formally recognized the academic achievements of its students with a daylong celebration. This year’s Honors Day celebration took place on May 16.

The day started with a keynote address by Doug Sisterson, research meteorologist at Argonne National Laboratory, as part of the Rall Symposium for Undergraduate Research. Before Sisterson took the lectern in Wentz Concert Hall, President Troy Hammond presented a North Central College medal to Priscilla Rall, granddaughter of North Central’s fifth president, Dr. Edward Everett Rall. The medal honors “more than 100 years of the Rall family’s legacy and commitment to the academic excellence of North Central College,” said Hammond.

Following the keynote, students presented their research in the new Science Center. Some 47 poster presentations, authored by 77 students, were showcased in Ratio Hall, and 22 oral presentations were given in classrooms throughout the Science Center. Click here to see the lineup of presentations.

The 41st annual Honors Convocation followed the symposium, celebrating student excellence in both the academic and cocurricular life of the College. Some 55 students were introduced by faculty members, who profiled their academic excellence and involvement in student life.  

A highlight of Honors Convocation was the announcement of the Outstanding Senior, Marissa Post. A College Scholar, she also received the Outstanding Major in Psychology award. Abiódún "G-P" Gòkè-Pariolá, provost and vice president for academic affairs and professor of English, made the surprise announcement (photo, below).

Recipients of all other awards presented during Honors Convocation are listed below.

College of Arts and Sciences
Diane Duvigneaud Senior Art Award: Grace Goodwyn ’17
Outstanding Major in Art: Giovanna Diaz Fabiani ’17
Outstanding Major in Theatre: Jack Morsovillo ’17
Outstanding Major in Musical Theatre: Anne Lorentzen ’17
Outstanding Major in Theatrical Design and Technology: Stephen Kossak ’17
Outstanding Major in Biochemistry: Thomas Halverson ’17
Outstanding Major in Biology: Helen Majer ’17
Outstanding Major in Chemistry: David Roznovjak ’17
Outstanding Major in Broadcast Communication: Elizabeth Baumgartner ’17
Outstanding Student in Forensics: Alexander Pabon ’17
Outstanding Major in Interactive Media Studies: Anthony Ashner ’17
Outstanding Major in Journalism: Allison Hartman ’18
Outstanding Major in Organizational Communication: Thea Klinker ’17
Outstanding Major in Speech Communication: Andrea Fekete ’18
Outstanding Major in Computer Science: Debra Jensen ’17
Outstanding Major in English: Stephanie Passialis ’17
Outstanding Major in Literature: Elizabeth Kulisek ’17
Outstanding Major in Writing: Rebecca Brush ’17
Outstanding Major in Social Science/History: Kevin Nalefski ’17
James Henry Breasted Class of 1890 Outstanding Major in History: Mark Mullane ’17
Outstanding Major in Actuarial Science: Roman Gilbert ’17
Outstanding Major in Applied Mathematics: Ryan Suby ’17
Outstanding Major in Mathematics: Taylor Spino ’17
Outstanding Major in Chinese: William Logsdon ’17
Outstanding Major in French: Eftihia Peroulas ’18
Outstanding Major in German: Katherine Kucko ’18
Outstanding Major in Japanese: Hannah LaPayne ’17
Outstanding Major in Spanish: Lisa Dieckman ’17
Clarence Juhnke Outstanding Music Major Award: Evangeline Tuohy ’18
Outstanding Major in Music Education: Kelsey Richardson ’18
Outstanding Major in Philosophy: Avagelos Andriopoulos ’17
Outstanding Major in Religious Studies: Ann Kuehn ’18
Outstanding Major in Physics: Alicia Casacchia ’17
Outstanding Major in Political Science: Jaedyn Krebs-Carr ’18
Outstanding Major in Psychology: Marissa Post ’17
Outstanding Major in Sociology & Anthropology: Chloe Boden ’17

School of Business and Entrepreneurship
Outstanding Major in Accounting: Nolan Brannick ’17
Outstanding Major in Economics: Adam Holstine ’17
Outstanding Major in Finance: Michael Montalbano ’17
Outstanding Major in International Business: Megan Seidman ’17
Outstanding Major in Management: Connor Sass ’17
Outstanding Major in Marketing: Deidre Ewers ’17

School of Education and Health Sciences
Outstanding Major in Elementary Education: Katherine Drone ’17
Outstanding Major in Secondary Education: Joanna Bodigor ’17
Outstanding Major in Athletic Training: Amanda Szabo ’17
Outstanding Major in Exercise Science: Benjamin Rabe ’17
Outstanding Major in Physical Education: Sadé Gant ’17
Outstanding Major in Sport Management: Andrew Signa ’18

Interdisciplinary Studies
Outstanding Major in East Asian Studies: William Logsdon ’17
Outstanding Major in Global Studies: Lisa Dieckman ’17
Outstanding Student in Interdisciplinary Studies: Giovanna Diaz Fabiani ’17

College Awards  
Outstanding Service to Student Life Award: Adam Holstine ’17
Margaret Youel Award: Luis Tello ’17
Megan Sweeney Award: Lisa Dieckman ’17
Harold R. Wilde Distinguished Service Award: Mike Hudson, vice president for operations

Lincoln Laureate: Luis Tello ’17

College Scholar Honors Theses (38 seniors): Grace Barksdale, Amy Berggren, Grace Blackford, Chloe Boden, Alicia Casacchia, Alexandria Corriveau, Katie Dickson, Lisa Dieckman, Roman Gilbert, Tommy Halverson, Claire Henneberry, Adam Holstine, Debra Jensen, Lauren Kanady, Sarah Kott, Madison Krider, Shelby Lauzon, Vanessa Lostumbo, Morgan Mason, Luke Miller, Ricardo Morales V, Jack Morsovillo, JoEllen Mueller, Mark Mullane, Bradley Munson, Wendy Myers, William Noland, Robert Oberschneider, Alexander Pabon, Stephanie Passialis, Marissa Post, Dacia Sands, Megan Seidman, Taylor Spino, Anastasia Tanzer, Kaitlin Tossing, Melissa Widel, Justin Wysocke

Richter Grant recipients: Alex Corriveau, Briseidy Andrade, Jessie Kickert, Nathan Kiehn, Debra Jensen, JoEllen Mueller, Stephanie Passialis, Jennifer Thomas

Scholar All-Americans 
United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Individuals:
Men’s cross country--Ethan Adlfinger, Al Baldonado, Omar Gomez, Zach Hird, Dan O’Keefe, Dhruvil Patel
Women’s cross country--Tori Capozziello, Helen Majer
Men’s track & field--Ethan Adlfinger, Zach Hird, Ken Hoffman, Zach Kirby, Spencer LaHaye, Dan O’Keefe, Peyton Piron, Jake Runnion, Tim Vazquez
Women’s track & field--Tori Capozziello, Kayla Etherton, Courtney Meyer, Alexis Nelson, Madison Renfro, Jessica Sutfin

National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society: Nolan Brannick, Jon Egan, Larry Holman, Nick Lynch, Jack McCoy, Kevin Nalefski, Jason Ochoa, Ben Rabe, Mike Zebold

Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) All-American Scholar Team, Men’s Golf: Lincoln Slagel

Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) All-American Scholar Team: Paige Candra, Rachel Herzberger, Kayla Koenig, Kelly Vazquez

Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Honor Roll: Gina Fisher, Anicia Mattingly, Nikki Merriss, Kailey Robbins, Kat Schultz, Emily Zadny